Monday, December 22, 2014

Say Goodbye to Princess Life

I wanted to chronicle my life living away from my parents and on my own. This is the first time I am living outside of my parents and not in a form room. To me, this is one o the biggest steps that I have ever taken. I rely heavily on my parents and brother for everything because I am needy and a princess at home. Most people become independent when they are 18 or right after they graduate college. I am 25 and I moved to be closer to school. So here is a little about me, and how I am going to start being more an adult and less of a princess.

After I graduated from college, I moved back home to start working full time. I was an overnight mental health specialist at a behavior facility for young adults between the ages of 9 to 17 years old. I worked Tuesday to Saturday from 11 PM to 7:30 AM. I hated this job. The hours were awful, I never saw the sun, and I never had any weekends. This job also did not have holidays off for overnight staff so I rang in the new year there. That was a low point. Another was getting bed bug bites from a unit I was watching one night, the fire and pain I felt was unbearable. I started looking for jobs, any job to get out of there. I could not stand being there anymore nor could I stand the depression I was feeling. This was from missing out on holidays, vacations, and hang outs with friends and family. 

I got two more full time jobs after this awful job, they were great for me: 15 minutes from my house, day hours, and within my range of experience. My coworkers for the most part have been great to work with and fun. They were all around my age. I started to realize that I wanted to work with a younger population and went to work for a preschool within my company. This ignited a desire to be a teacher to enrich the lives of young children. I wanted to work as a public school teacher, I started to research how I can go about that without going back to undergraduate school for another 4 years. I found a couple of graduate programs which allow you to gain a teaching license within 2 years. I started to apply to these programs. 

I got into the MAT: ECE Program at UMBC to start in Spring 2015. I am really excited about this program and making new friends. To be closer to school, I moved to Severn into a friend's house. They are working full time in jobs close to the house. This will be my chronicle of living with them. The house owner is Hyman, he is about 28. He reminds me of Frank Grimes from the Simpsons. Same eyebrows and everything. He has retired from the Army, loves being independent, and trolls almost everyone. He does seems to enjoy our housemate time together and does not like missing out on jokes. My other housemate is Young, she is one of my sorority sisters. She love anime, comics (Marvel mostly, Spiderman, especially), and fashion. She does cook in the house so the kitchen will start being her domain and mine soon. 

I wanted for you all, the readers, to learn a little more about me and how I am becoming independent. 


Post a Comment